

Press Release 23-03

October 1st, 2023

IAA Attributes the 2023 Laurels for Team Achievement Award to

Emirates Mars Mission Team

The International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) has attributed the Laurels for Team Achievement Award for 2023 to the Emirates Mars mission team.

The citation reads as follow:

The 2023 Laurels for Team Achievement is presented to the international team of engineers, scientists, and managers who, through an extraordinary knowledge partnership, co-developed the Emirates Mars Mission, the first interplanetary mission by an Arab nation, in order to advance our understanding of the Martian atmosphere through synoptic images across all times of day. The Emirates Mars Mission was developed by an international team of 450 engineers, scientists, instrument specialists and project managers, with members from the Mohammed bin Rashid Space Centre in Dubai, UAE, the Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics (LASP) at the University of Colorado Boulder, Arizona State University and the Space Sciences Laboratory at the University of California, Berkeley. This team of outstanding individuals drove the development and operation of the mission at a remarkable pace and with significant innovation. This unique combination of talents was managed as a single, integrated team to deliver an interplanetary mission with a revolutionary approach to mission design, management and execution. With its innovative elliptical orbit and three scientific instruments, the Emirates Mars Mission Hope probe is the first spacecraft at Mars able to make synoptic images across all times of day at visible, thermal infrared and far ultraviolet wavelengths.

The Laurels for Team Achievement are presented to:

Leadership team Omran Sharaf, Pete Withnell, Sarah Al Amiri, Christopher Sanders

Core Science Team Hessa Al Matroushi, Hoor Al Mazmi, Noora Al Mehairi, Mariam Al Shamsi, Eman Al Tunaiji, Khalid Badri, David Brain, Michael Chaffin, Phil Christensen, Justin Deighan, Christopher Edwards, Francois Forget, Bruce Jakosky, Rob Lillis, Fatma Lootah, Michael Smith, Mike Wolff, Maryam Yousuf

Engineering team Mohsen Al Awadhi, Suhail Al Dhafri, Omran Al Hammadi, Hamad Al Hazami, Khuloud Al Mansoori, Mahmood Al Nasser, Zakareyya Al Shamsi, Ahmed Al Shehhi, Omar Al Shehhi, Ali Al Suwaidi, Nicolas Ferrington, Mohammed Abdulla Khoory, Brett Landin, Brian Pramann, Heather Reed, Sean Ryan, Ayesha Sharafi, Mohammad Wali